Southwest Region

We welcome members and conference attendees from any state. The traditional states for the  Southwest region include: AR, CO, KS, NM, OK, TX, UT

 2013 Southwest Regional Meeting 

Theme:  INNOVATION through INQUIRY:  Policy, Practice, & Research in Science Teacher Education

October 4 -5 , 2013

San Antonio, TX


Conference Proposals:  SUBMISSION DEADLINE EXTENSION, Friday, September 20th – midnight CST

We encourage proposals that respond to the theme. Our small, friendly conference offers faculty and students valuable opportunities to network and share ideas about matters that influence science teachers and science teaching.

The link to the Proposal Submission Form here: and the Call for Presentations can be found here:

Conference Registration

The online registration is now open!  Please go to to register.  Our conference host, President-Elect Kim Bilica, is finalizing the numbers for the lunch banquet, so quick responses are greatly appreciated!

Hotel Reservations

The conference rate ($109/night) will END on Fri., Sept 20. If you have not yet made your reservations at the El Tropicano Hotel, please do so before that time. You can reach the El Tropicano Hotel reservations here: 877.214.9768. Mention the SW-ASTE conference to get your conference rate. After Fri., Sept 20, the group rate will no longer be available.

The El Tropicano Hotel is located directly on the Museum Reach portion of the San Antonio Riverwalk (  This new extension is within walking distance (or river taxi) to the traditional restaurant/tourist area as well as to the trendy Pearl Brewery area ( The Pearl includes several wonderful restaurants, Aveda Spa, and a great coffee and dessert shop in the Culinary Arts Institute.

Future Conferences

The SW-ASTE officers are considering locations and planning for future Southwest ASTE regional conferences.  If you would like to make a suggestion about future conferences, or have other ideas regarding this regional organization, please contact SW-ASTE president Christine Shupla, at


Conference Contact: Kimberly Bilica,

Regional Officers:

PresidentChristine Shupla, Lunar and Planetary Institute

President-ElectKimberly Bilica, University of Texas San Antonio

Immediate Past President – Walter Smith, Texas Tech University

Secretary – Becky Sinclair, Texas A&M – Commerce

Treasurer – Dan Smith, Texas State University

Regional Director to ASTE – Vanessa Dodo Seriki, University of Houston-Clear Lake